Monastic Schemas

The steps an Orthodox monk or nun goes through in their religious vocation are known as Schemas or the degrees of monasticism. 

The Eastern Orthodox Church deliberately takes time with the monastic ordination process since the vows signed are seen as a lifetime commitment to God. Before acquiring the monastic habit, a person must complete three degrees, or steps, in the preparation process. At first there is the Novice stage, which is later followed by the Rasophore (the Robe-bearer) and the Stavrophore (the Cross-bearer)  to achieve the highest degree of the spiritual path which is the Great Schema

The various monastic schemas are represented by different symbols and clothing that the monks wear. Also there are variations according to the orientation of the monasteries.

Your Cart is empty.

Your Wishlist is empty.

by Availability
by {{ }}
We Accept
Visa MasterCard Paypal Western Union

V. Rev. Archbishop Gregory, USA

"...Thank you very much. Today we received the monastic schema , and I am very pleased with the outcome. I am very impressed with the good work that your people produced, and I want to express my heartfelt gratitude...."

March 22, 2022